Recipe: Roasted Carrots, Leeks and Fennel

roasted carrots, fennel and leeks

I am beyond happy to report that the Calgary Farmers Market has reopened!!! It actually opened three weeks ago. We stopped by on opening day, but after a 40 minute wait to get into the parking lot, I was a bit frazzled and it was a bit too busy to enjoy. We were back there this weekend and it really is beautiful and amazing. There was something about the old farmers market that was so charming. Perhaps it was the familiarity of the faces and routine that we had, or perhaps I, like many, cling a bit too tightly to things I love. I’m sure the new market will grow to have charm for me like the old one. It is however, beautiful and spacious and there are some incredible new vendors, and so many yummy food choices. Highlights: Fratello Analog serves a ridiculously good traditional cap, Silk Road Spice Merchants have a great little location in the market and I’ve heard rumors that the Vietnamese Subs are the best in the city! I bought a ridiculous amount of produce at the Cherry Pit, mostly because I was just excited about all the options. Interestingly, we are almost out of produce, which proves my theory that shopping at the Market makes us eat better.

Anyway…I whipped this up for dinner last night, to use up some of the vegetables I picked up. It was delicious and super easy(but takes a while in the oven, so plan ahead!) Hope you enjoy!

Roasted Carrots, Leeks and Fennel

In a large glass baking dish, place 1 fennel bulb, thinly chopped, 4 leeks(pale and white parts) thinly sliced, about 10 large carrots, sliced into 1 inch thick rounds, and 4 garlic cloves(peeled). Drizzle with olive oil, honey, and a generous amount of balsamic vinegar. Roast at 375 for about 1 hr. Remove from oven. Add half a loaf of sourdough bread chopped into 2 inch cubes, a handful of fresh rosemary, a handful of chopped walnuts and some sea salt. Stir to coat bread with oil and vinegar. Put back in the oven for about another 20-30 minutes, until bread crumbs are toasted, and everything is golden and delicious. This serves about 4 as a side dish.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenny
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 04:03:56

    I’ve made this a couple times now and it’s been a big hit! The second time I didn’t have leeks so I through in some red onion instead and I also didn’t have sourdough bread but had some leftover croissants so used those and it was lovely! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Reply

  2. Ann B
    Apr 08, 2012 @ 10:16:04

    Google is an amazing tool. Just back from the market with fennel, leeks, and carrots. Wondering how to cook them. As Calgarians living in France it was fabulous to find your site at the top of the list! We don’t have any leftover croissants (those get eaten) but we do have some leftover baguette. Wish me luck. Happy Easter.

    Reply

Leave a comment