Think Fresh: Infused Vodka

home-infused vodka

Ok, this turned out better than I’d even hoped!! I noticed in Bon Appetit a month or two ago a comment on infusing your own vodka. I thought that sounded like a fun idea and happened to have 2 almost full bottles of vodka in the freezer for some random reason. I think they were left over from IronSister’s Dirty Martini lingerie shower a looooong time ago. So two weeks ago I pulled them out and poured them into jars and added several blood oranges(pith completely removed to avoid bitterness) to one jar, several sour cherries to another, and a whole bunch of blackberries to a jar of vanilla vodka. I left them in the fridge for 2 weeks, shaking them up from time to time.

With Sexy Husband’s line of work, we have no end of musicians around. I was looking for a particular kind of guest for the vodka sampling occasion. The type of guest who isn’t burdened at my demands to sample my various cocktail creations at 5:30pm.  And I had my dreams come true when a good friend, who I will call Rockstar Scotty, joined us for dinner. We came up with the following combinations. I highly recommend them all!

Creamy Cherry – sour cherry vodka with old fashioned cream soda (I used 1 oz of vodka per drink because we obviously had to have a few)

Bloody Fizz – blood orange vodka with mango soda

Black Vanilla – blackberry infused vanilla vodka with a splash of blueberry juice

I served these all over ice, in martini glasses. Rockstar Scotty liked the Black Vanilla best, Sexy Husband and I both thought the Creamy Cherry was pretty amazing. All were great and a lot of fun!

I’m definitely going to try some other ones: watermelon and nectarine seem like a good place to start. I also have some lychees that might make for some nice drinks. If you get creative and infuse your own booze, let me know what combos you try!

Creamy Cherry

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Arlene Miller II
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 07:05:54

    That sounds like a fantastically fun idea (and a great excuse to get my drink on with a few of the ladies when they’re done).

    Reply

  2. Heather
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 14:53:14

    Awesome!! I am totally going to try this – I might go the tea route. I have been dying to try my hand at Earl Grey Vodka.

    Reply

  3. jrock
    Jul 15, 2011 @ 22:04:37

    i like this!!

    Reply

  4. Michelle
    Aug 07, 2011 @ 11:12:16

    I love the idea of infusing your own vodka. You could get so creative with this. Is it really as simple as pouring it in a jar with fruit and letting it set for 2 weeks?

    Reply

  5. sig
    Jan 22, 2012 @ 13:01:47

    one piece of advice for infusing: taste them OFTEN!

    when i got the bright idea to infuse vodka with fresh hot peppers for bloody marys, i guessed on the amount and left it alone for four days before i tasted it. WOW! good thing it was winter, because the only time i could drink it was coming in from the cold!

    strawberries impart a sweetness that’s so intense, you’d swear it was artificial. melon was more boring than i expected. i’m doing a gin-like juniper bitters right now, with thyme, rosemary, juniper berries, and smoked black peppercorns!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

