Local Fare: Cruffs

Birthday Boy

Sexy Husband is 34 today!!! Happy Birthday Love! The world is celebrating him by snowing. Again. Not what he deserves for being one of those people who lives to serve others, do anything to make his family happy, and enjoy the simple things in life. He really is the best person I know.

Every year I ask him what kind of cake he wants. I’m hoping he’ll say something like 6 layer hazelnut ganache torte or baked alaska. But no, it’s always something like, Dairy Queen Ice Cream Cake, or Strawberry Shortcake. I want to put monstrous amounts of effort in to show my love, he wants me to spend 2 minutes buying it, instead of 2 days baking it. Of course this is why I love him. This year he requested cream puffs. A tower of cream puffs to be exact. So I purchased enough cream puffs to feed the SW corner of Calgary. But then this morning we were downtown and noticed Cruffs, a Cream Puff Store!! Perfect! So I stopped in and now…you MUST! Click on the link to see their website.

Cruffs is owned by 2 brothers from Indonesia. The couple who were working were passionate about their cream puffs, taking great care to tell me how to store them until tonight. They were also seriously about the nicest people I’ve talked to in days. I left wanting to be their friend. This is how it works. You choose mini or regular sized cream puffs. The minis are about 3 times of the size of minis you get in a tub from Superstore. The large ones about the size of a donut. Then you pick your fill, and he injects the filling straight into the cream puff, so it’s completely fresh!!! Fillings included: hazelnut chocolate, coconut, lemon, strawberry, vanilla, and chantilly cream. How amazing is that? They cost exactly half the price of fancy cupcakes and I love the idea of getting exactly the kinds you want!

yum yum

Tonight we will celebrate with a tower of cream puffs, particularly coconut, lemon and hazelnut ones. Tomorrow is Foodie Baby’s 2nd birthday(can you BELIEVE I have 2 important people to cook for and celebrate within 48 hrs? Tricky). So the afternoon is being spent baking all things mini: mini cookies, mini scones, mini cupcakes, all for her little Button mini brunch table tomorrow. Pics to come I’m sure. Forgive my few day foray away from normal, healthy, easy meals!

My little Button

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 13:02:38

    oh My !!!! is it a franchise? if not i NEED to come to Calgary to try these!

    Reply

  2. kjanzen
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 13:29:32

    Happy Bday to Leon, and um, is it just me or is Poet getting cuter and cuter and cuter every day? As if I didn’t already want to squeeze her! I can’t get enough of her little face.

    And I love the customized Cream Puff! I wouldn’t be surprised if I see you attempting this on your own, from scratch, in the near future! I would like a chocolate espresso, please.

    Reply

  3. Wendy Nilsen
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 14:01:39

    So wonderful! I wish you all a fun filled couple of days celebrating your lovely family! Poet just is too cute for words!

    Reply

  4. Alex
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 14:06:42

    You are clearly deprived of making someone an extravagant cake, so to help solve this problem, you are MORE than welcome to make me a grandiose cake Marie Antoinette styles.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

