Recipe: Mushroom Arugula Risotto

Mushroom Arugula Risotto

Can you believe this people?! I’m on a roll! The melting snow, the sunny skies, some upcoming adventures on the calendar, all seem to be helping some inspiration return to my life. And for this, I am so so grateful. I can tell I’m returning to myself because I keep trying to feed my friends. You’re stressed? I should feed you. You’re sad? I should feed you. You’re celebrating? I should feed you.

Here’s some stuff I’m working on for you: some beautiful sugar free desserts, a foodie review of BOSTON! (where I will be next week with IronSister as she runs the Boston Marathon), and of course I will be giving you an indepth guide to the new Calgary Farmers Market, when(if. sniff. sob) it opens!

But for today: a new risotto. I did this risotto a bit differently than my normal risotto. For one thing, no onion, which is usually a risotto staple. Second, I didn’t stir in parmesan at the end like most risottos called for, I stirred in some crumbled feta. The feta went great with the peppery arugula. Give it a try!

Mushroom Arugula Risotto

Serves 4

1/4 cup butter

2 cups coarsely chopped mushrooms

1 small zucchini, chopped

1.5 cups arborio rice

1/2 cup white wine

6 cups(or so) broth(chicken or veg) or water/broth mixed

large handful of arugula

1/2 cup crumbled feta

1 tbs chopped fresh rosemary

Directions: Heat broth in a small pot, until it’s just simmering. In a large pot melt the butter over medium heat. Add mushrooms and zucchinis and stir until juices are rendered, about 3 minutes. Add rice and stir to coat. Add wine and stir until mostly absorbed. Add broth one ladle at a time and stir until liquid is mostly absorbed before adding more liquid. Stir constantly, adding liquid, until rice is tender, 35-40 minutes. Stir in arugula and feta and rosemary. Serve!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wendy
    Apr 07, 2011 @ 20:18:21

    Oh.my.goodness! I feel like telling you I’m stressed (if it’ll bring this dish over. J/K) I will be trying this one. THANK YOU! And I am SUPER excited for your sugar free treats! Dessert has become our incentive for getting all dinners into our 3 year old. I’m running out of ideas as we don’t eat much sweets…we’ve been using smoothies, organic granola bars, pure fruitcicles…I am excited to read on! And yay! Have fun next week!

    Reply

  2. Jessica
    Apr 07, 2011 @ 21:36:04

    Ha… I was just going to say the same thing as Wendy above! I’m stressed… please bring food to Edmonton!! πŸ™‚
    Great recipe! Can’t wait for the cookbook! πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

