Recipe: Beet Soup

beet soup

A friend of mine is home, sick, recovering from surgery, and not allowed to drive. Not fun. Something about feeding soup to sick friends makes me happy. Maybe they don’t even want soup. But I forever feel the need to make them soup anyway. So on this quiet, super snowy day, I am enjoying the smell of soup on the stove, the way I have to squint my eyes out the window because the white is so bright, and the peace that comes with turning concern in the heart into gifts in the hands. Enjoy!

Beet Soup

2 tbs butter

1 large garlic clove

1 medium sweet onion, coarsely chopped

1 cup celery, chopped

1 cup carrots, chopped

2 cups beets, finely chopped(I quartered mine and then put them in a food processor)

4 cups water

1 tsp coarse sea salt

2 tbs chopped fresh dill

1/4 cup whipping cream

Directions: In a large heavy pot, melt butter over medium heat. Add garlic, onions, celery, carrots and stir to coat with butter. Allow to soften while you chop beets. Add beets, water, salt, and dill and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low and simmer for about an hour. Pour in whipping cream. Serve.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jo
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 17:52:38

    I tried making borscht the other day but I just didn’t care for it. Beets really do NOT agree with me. Do you think this soup any easier for non-beet lovers? (I want to find ways to incorporate beets into my diet bc they are very healthy).

    Reply

    • figandfennel
      Feb 03, 2011 @ 15:39:21

      I don’t really like borscht either, but I’m not a huge cabbage fan…It’s a pretty mild soup but if you don’t like beets, then maybe not for you. There are so many delicious vegetables out there, if you don’t like beets, then don’t eat beets(at least this is my theory on vegetables:)!

      Reply

  2. Francis
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 19:09:35

    And i just cooked and preserved 3 pounds of them beets because i had no ideas about what to do with them.
    This look so good i will get some (fresh) beets next week and have that soup.

    šŸ˜€

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Web Info Fox » Recipe: Beet Soup
  4. Jessica
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 19:30:53

    I made this the other day times about 100 for the staff at work on our soup club day! Soooooooooooooooooooooooo yum! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

