Recipe: Orzo Tuna Nicoise

orzo tuna nicoise

This little recipe was whipped up last night, as I stared into the fridge, glanced over at the clock and realized something had to be made in about 15 minutes times, stared back into the fridge, glanced back at the clock etc. My whole cooking life has been thrown off with the temporary closure and relocation of the Calgary Farmer’s Market. My little routine has been rocked and now I can’t seem to keep track of the produce in my fridge. For whatever reason I keep buying spinach and tomatoes. At least we like spinach and tomatoes but every night this week I’ve had to find new ways to do things with spinach and tomatoes!

Tomorrow, we are going to check out the new Kingsland Market. A lot of the vendors from the CFM have moved there so I hope to see some familiar faces. It’s January, it’s cold, not the peak of my cooking inspiration anyway. I’m missing the vibrancy of the Market and looking forward to it reopening.

Orzo may just be my favorite of all pasta. I have a really yummy asparagus orzo salad recipe in the cookbook. The kids LOVE orzo because it’s cute and little. This recipe is delicious hot(supper), lukewarm(snack after supper), and cold(lunch). I made it literally in 15 minutes with the odds and ends in the fridge. If you need a super quick dinner this week…give it a try!

Orzo Tuna Nicoise

1. Prepare the orzo. I used about 2 cup uncooked orzo pasta, which turned into enough for entrees for 4 people. Once orzo is cooked, al dente, drain and dump into a large bowl.

2. Add in one can of light flaked tuna, 1/2 cup crumbled feta, 2 chopped hard boiled eggs, 4 cups fresh spinach, 1 large sliced tomato, 2 tbs capers, handful of chopped fresh dill. Drizzle with a tiny bit of olive oil and freshly cracked pepper. Stir to combine. Serve.

 

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mila
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 09:17:39

    All is not right in the world without the Farmer’s Market, Alison! We, too are trying out the Kingsland Market today while we wait for the re-opening.
    P.S. I think Tuna Nicoise is our favourite dish….esp. with new potatoes and green beans. You may enjoy a hit of grainy dijon mustard with the olive oil.

    Reply

  2. Wendy Nilsen
    Jan 08, 2011 @ 15:57:21

    This is now on my menu plan for next week! Thanks!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Confused pasta: tuna and orzo salad « Mrs. Jackson Cooks
  4. Wendy Nilsen
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 13:55:28

    One question, I’ve never made Orzo…how do I do it? You have instructions for 2c, the bag has it as 450g. Could you give me tips?

    Reply

    • figandfennel
      Jan 18, 2011 @ 15:14:09

      Wendy, it’s a type of pasta, so I cook it by just boiling it in a lot of water and draining the rest, like any other pasta. Doesn’t have to be absorption like rice… I measured about 2 cups of it dry and probably boiled about 6 cups of water. If you make too much, good for leftovers!

      Reply

  5. Wendy Nilsen
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 16:00:40

    Thanks Alison! I’m excited to see how this tastes!

    Reply

  6. Wendy Nilsen
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 19:27:41

    Thanks so much! This one was a hit! Everyone (palets from baby to retired, also from different lands) really enjoyed it! We sure will make this one again. thanks! I personally think this recepie should go in the cookbook.

    Reply

  7. Amanda Bonner
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 12:56:20

    Hello Calgary Farmers’ Market Enthusiasts,

    Everyone is working hard to get the doors open at our new Blackfoot location. We are so excited to show off all the hard work and provide you with the best produce and products to help you live your healthy lifestyle! Please check our website for the announcement of our official opening date. The announcement is coming soon, I promise. While you are on the site check out all our vendors, there are familiar faces and great new additions.
    http://www.calgaryfarmersmarket.ca

    Reply

  8. Trackback: Web Info Fox » Recipe: Orzo Tuna Nicoise

Leave a Reply

