Recipe: Olive and Romano Scones

olive and romano scones

I think there are really only 2 types of people in the world: olive lovers and olive haters. (That’s some intense sociology). Our whole little family falls into the former category. Even Picky Princess loves olives! Must be her half mediterranean blood. If you fall into the olive hater category, you probably should skip this recipe.

It’s Monday morning and mondays are kind of a make or break it for me as far as healthy eating goes. If I can start the week off with motivation and inspiration, it can be a week of great recipes and healthy choices. I’ve been wanting to experiment with olive oil in scones, instead of butter. Seriously I would say my food budget is split 50/50 between organic produce and butter. And butter is not so bad. It is a FAR healthier choice than margarine, which is a chemical substance not really related to any food product. And butter bakes so beautifully. Butter is, however high in saturated fats(like all animal fat), which I don’t mind in moderation because I know I will burn it into oblivion in my next hot yoga class.

This delicious savory recipe came out of my inspiration this morning. These scones are YUMMY! Savory greatness. Give them a try! If you are an olive hater, there is no judgement here. You can check out THIS if you want  another yummy scone recipe.

 

Olive and Romano Scones

makes 12

2 cups spelt flour

1 tbs baking powder

1/2 tsp coarse sea salt

pinch of chili flakes

1/2 cup shredded romano cheese(I’m sure any hard cheese would be fine) plus more for garnish

1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil

1/2 cup cream

1 egg

1/3 cup finely chopped olives

Directions: Preheat oven to 375. Whisk together all the dry ingredients. Drizzle olive oil over the flour mixture. In a measuring cup, whisk together the cream and the egg. Add the cream and egg and olives to the flour mixture and stir with a fork until just combined. Turn out onto wax or parchment paper and pat into an 8 inch round circle. Cut into 12 pieces and place on parchment lined baking sheet. Sprinkle with a bit more cheese. Bake for about 15 mins. Enjoy!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Recipe: Olive and Romano Scones « fig & fennel | ClubEvoo
  2. Francis
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 21:10:08

    OMG, happening again and this afternoon the doctor told me to watch my diet. Am taking a note of that one too, hoping for a time when……..

    Reply

  3. Trackback: HowToGrillSalmon.com
  4. Liesel
    Dec 12, 2010 @ 22:24:12

    I made these the other day and had to add 1/2 cup more flour. Do you use regular spelt or light? Do you spelt because it has less gluten? ( Kristy Anne was my wedding photgrapher 🙂

    Reply

    • figandfennel
      Dec 13, 2010 @ 13:48:54

      Hi Liesel,
      I used regular spelt although light spelt works great too(just it has a bit less fibre). I use spelt because I like how it bakes better than whole wheat flour, but has the same nutritional benefits of being a whole wheat. I like the slightly nutty taste and find that the baked goods are less dense than whole wheat. Spelt has some gluten, but significantly less than wheat, and I’m not super concerned about the gluten because we don’t eat very much wheat in general, but do like that it’s lower. How did they turn out with more flour? I’ve found that the wetter the dough, the fluffier the scones, although definitely trickier to work with!

      Reply

  5. Liesel
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 21:36:34

    They turned out good- easier to work when I added more flour, still pretty wet. Thanks for all the great ideas:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

