Baking: Vanilla Coconut Cake with Coconut Rum Buttercream

the only piece that lasted long enough to photograph

Listen up friends. This is, and always will be a HEALTHY food blog. Except for around Christmas. No just kidding. While I make and eat and create healthy dishes almost all the time, there are definitely special occasions where some treats are included in our lives. Some purists out there might not like that, but that’s ok I can handle it. This is the balance to find I suppose. I can make a pretty cake and have a small piece. I can go to a cookie exchange, eat an embarrassing amount, go to hot yoga, forgive myself and move on. These things happen. And they seem to happen more frequently in party season, of course.

ANYWAY, yesterday was one of my dearest friends birthday. If ever there is a reason for a particularly beautiful and decadent cake, it’s when beautiful and decadent friends get together to celebrate each other. This little adjustment to a very typical cake recipe made it…spectacular. I could tell it was good because my health and weight conscious girlfriends had two pieces each.

Here’s how you do it. Make a vanilla/white cake in two 8inch round cake pans. You can use any recipe you like (or gasp…a box, I will never tell). This Martha Stewart recipe is my go to. When the two rounds are done, I turn them out onto a cutting board. Then I used about 1/2 a can of coconut milk and drizzled it over the cakes to soak in. I made regular buttercream icing, you know, butter and icing sugar, but I added in 3(ish) oz of coconut rum. The icing was too good to even really speak of. I iced the first layer, stacked the second and iced all around, topping it off with some fancy flake coconut and voila.

I apologize for the poor picture. The cake was gone, minus the last piece, before I remembered to take a pic.

Thus the latest baking adventure.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Francis
    Dec 02, 2010 @ 20:42:18

    Look sooo delicious, but i must abstain, evoke whatever amendment there is not to touch it. Maybe a liitle piece 😀

    Reply

  2. kjanzen
    Dec 03, 2010 @ 08:59:46

    oh goodness. i love the icing idea!

    Reply

  3. Jenny
    Dec 03, 2010 @ 14:08:12

    um..YUM!!

    Reply

  4. Francis
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 22:17:10

    A friend of mine made that wonderful cake and i had a small piece yesterday, simply wonderful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

