Recipe: Cranberry Apple Cider

Cranberry Apple Cider

Honestly, being loved so well saves my life every day. I am so grateful for Sexy Husband and how he knows me and loves me so well. This morning I woke up on day 4 or so of being utterly despairing of the grey and snow. We lived in Victoria for awhile. And while it was breathtakingly beautiful with all the greenery and gardens and cherry blossoms…the few months in the winter without much sun were so hard on me. I can embrace the pink and burning cheeks, the tears from blinding snowy sunshine. I can embrace fur trimmed down coats, and 200 (mismatched) little girl mitts. But the grey days are just no fun. Anyway…Sexy Husband called on the way home from running some errands and said, “coat on. We’re gonna play.”  Full costume change later, we were out in the snow, laughing, running, breathless from carrying Baby and pulling Little Girl on sleigh. The endorphins worked their magic, the grey lifted, and mercifully, the sun broke through for the first time this week. We came home to warm sourdough bread, homemade vegetable soup and a happier heart.

This afternoon, still feeling much more accepting of winter, I whipped up this seasonal drink. It is perfectly sweet, perfectly spiced. Perfect tea-party-on-snowy-day material. Enjoy!

Cranberry Apple Cider

Makes 2 mugs worth

1 apple, skin on, coarsely shredded

1/2 cup cranberries, halved

juice of 1/2 a lemon

1.5 cups water

1 tbs honey

1 tsp cinnamon

pinch of cinnamon

In a pot, simmer together all ingredients. I let it simmer for about 10 minutes, but I’m pretty sure the longer it simmers the better. Strain through a fine sieve into a large mug. Enjoy (careful! hot!)

**Tracey, my best-friend-neighbor, tried it and said she thinks it tastes like a fruit roll up! So unofficially we’ll call it Fruit Roll Up Cider**

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kjanzen
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 16:18:28

    Mmm. Yes please. This also might be my most favorite picture of yours to date!

    Reply

  2. Tracey
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 19:12:43

    Honestly it was THE best thing I have ever tasted. I am a lover of the ciders… all sorts, but this one takes the cake HANDS DOWN!
    Can’t wait to make it… and then make it again.

    Reply

  3. Rachel
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 09:56:01

    I’m with Kristin! This photo is amazing! and thanks for what looks like another amazing recipe. (btw – Victoria is due to get snow today too….)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

