Recipe: Apple Pecan Cookies

apple pecan cookies

Ugh. It is snowy and grey and cold and midweek and I am trying very hard to have a good attitude. So I put on some music and thought I’d work on a new recipe: apple pecan cookies. The healthier the cookies the better as far as I’m concerned because then they become snacks for my kids, treats for me, breakfast even. The reality is that if I have baked goods in the house, I WILL eat them. Instead of improve my will power, I improve my pantry. This recipe is just that: minimal butter, no sugar, spelt flour, apple and honey sweetened.

Now this is bizarre…You know how the dryer eats socks? All the time? Well my pantry, which is really impossibly tiny, is like a black hole. I just bought pecans today, AND put them away on the second shelf, and I know this because it crossed my mind, hmm, maybe I should put this in the fridge instead. And they are…gone. I literally took everything out of the pantry. Totally gone. And not in the fridge. This happens to me way too often! So I used almonds, but I’m sticking to my guns about pecans being a perfect compliment for the apple.

So…I’m sitting here eating my third. They are cakey and appley perfection. Waiting for my girls to wake up and bring down their sunshine.

Apple Pecan Cookies

1.5 cups spelt flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

2 tsps cinnamon

1/2 cup butter, room temperature

1/2 cup honey

1 apple coarsely shredded

1 egg

1/2 cup pecans

Directions: Preheat oven to 350, line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper. In a bowl whisk together dry ingredients, set aside. Beat butter until light and fluffy. Add in honey, apple, egg, beat until well combined. Stir in flour until just combined. Stir in nuts. Drop by teaspoonful onto sheets and bake for about 10-12 minutes, until edges are turning slightly golden. Enjoy!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Babygirl
    Nov 17, 2010 @ 16:16:39

    What a good recipe… I will definitely try this. Thanx

    Reply

  2. fattydumpling
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 07:36:00

    That’s a funny thought, your pantry as a black hole. Mine’s not a black hole because I know where the food goes: in ma belly.

    I like how there’s fresh apple in this cookie!

    Reply

  3. Paula
    Nov 27, 2010 @ 22:17:54

    Just made these today – a great way to involve the 10yo in cooking 😀 I used gluten free flour instead of spelt, and my apples were small so I used two. Oh, and I added a bit more cinnamon because I love cinnamon 😉 The cookies turned out kinda like crispy cakey rock cakes, with a lovely fluffy centre. Yuuuum!!!!

    Reply

    • figandfennel
      Nov 28, 2010 @ 07:48:24

      glad they turned out! Just goes to show that if you have yummy healthy ingredients, you can experiment quite wildly and usually it works out! (not that I haven’t had to throw out the odd batch of too-healthy-tasting things!)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

