Recipe: Red Quinoa Burgers with Mushroom Sage Sauce

Red Quinoa Burgers with Mushroom Sage Sauce

Quinoa is one of those happy little ingredients that is a total go-to for me. If I have quinoa, then I have dinner. It goes with everything and makes an easy one dish meal a million different ways. There is red, black, and white quinoa. You can definitely interchange the red with any other in this recipe.

It’s late. It’s Monday. It’s cold and grey. I was looooooow on inspiration for much of  anything today. Yet this easy and delicious recipe came to life and ended up being a happy meal with my family, full of little girl giggles, love and warmth. The dinner redeemed my miserable(ish) day so…it’s a new favorite. Foodie Baby ate as much as I did and shockingly, Picky Princess who is NOT a quinoa fan, loved them too! I did have to call them burgers and not quinoa burgers when talking about them in front of her, AND she slathered them in mustard, which is just weird. Another dinner in less than 30 mins! Quinoa can be made ahead of time if you’re really organized!

Red Quinoa Burgers with Mushroom Sage Sauce

Serves 4

2 cups red quinoa, rinsed

2 eggs

2 tbs sesame seeds

sea salt to taste

3 tbs olive oil

Sauce

2 tbs extra virgin olive oil

2 cups finely chopped mushrooms

1 tbs fresh sage, finely chopped

1 garlic clove, finely chopped

1/2 cup white wine

juice of 1 lemon

2 tbs heavy cream

salt and pepper

Directions: Boil the quinoa. Quinoa is cooked when the tight little grains uncurl into a spiral. Best when cooked until tender but not mushy. Drain well. Stir into the pot sesame seeds, eggs and salt. In a heavy skillet, heat olive oil over medium heat until shimmering. Drop into oil batches of quinoa. With a spoon, shape into the size of a medium pancake, about 1 inch thick and 4 inches in diameter(like you would a hamburger patty). Cook in the oil for a few minutes. Then flip and cook on the other side for a couple of minutes. Do these in batches and keep cooked “burgers” on a baking sheet in a barely heated oven to keep them warm.

Meanwhile, heat olive oil for the sauce over medium heat. Add mushrooms, sage and garlic and saute for 5 minutes, until mushrooms release their juices. Stir in wine and lemon juice. Simmer for 10 minutes or so. Stir in cream and salt and pepper.

Serve burgers on a bed of arugula with mushroom sauce spooned over them.

Happy grey Monday friends! Here’s hoping for a sunny Tuesday!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenny
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 01:37:03

    Is there a difference in flavor between red, black and white quinoa? I think these sound great but I might have a hard time convincing Russ!

    Reply

  2. kjanzen
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 10:39:50

    I totally just posted homemade burgers too, but these are very different (mine are chicken)! I would love to make this… I’ll save it for one night when Kevy is away 🙂

    Reply

  3. kjanzen
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 10:40:40

    I also meant to mention that the sauce looks particularly yummy. I bet I could use that on many different things!

    Reply

  4. Colleen
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 14:32:31

    Looks good? Can I make this with regular Quinoa?

    Reply

  5. figandfennel
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 16:50:22

    you can definitely use regular white quinoa. I didn’t notice any taste different with the red, and definitely not with the black, totally interchangeable!

    Reply

  6. figandfennel
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 16:50:50

    Kristin tell Kevin I say – be a man and eat your quinoa! 🙂

    Reply

  7. Quinoa Diet Tips
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 01:32:59

    Hi,
    I love this recipe. On Friday I will publish a blog post where your recipe will appear. I hope you don’t mind. My readers have to know this great quinoa recipe!
    Thank you for sharing:)

    Naomi

    Reply

  8. Trackback: Quinoa burger recipe | Quinoa Diet Tips
  9. Robyn
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 07:36:44

    Probably a silly question but does half and half constitute as heavy cream? Or do I need something heavier? Thanks!

    Reply

    • figandfennel
      Nov 12, 2010 @ 13:17:59

      I usually use whipping cream if i’m making a cream sauce, but only because I use so little of it. You could definitely use half and half, you could even use regular milk!

      Reply

  10. Robyn
    Nov 14, 2010 @ 19:18:33

    I tried making these tonight. Just couldn’t get them to stick together. Ended up with Quinoa Hash. Any suggestions? Is this normally difficult?

    Reply

  11. figandfennel
    Nov 14, 2010 @ 19:57:16

    hmmm…mine stuck together pretty well but here are a couple of things to try…when I scooped them into the frying pan, I waited until they were a bit crisp before trying to flip them. I also made them fairly small so they were easy to flip. You could try adding some bread crumbs or feta cheese…how was the quinoa hash?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

