Recipe: Cinnamon Pinwheel Cookies

Cinnamon Pinwheel Cookies

It is a gorgeous, stunning, 21 degrees, sunshiney fall day! I cannot believe it’s November. I am so grateful for such a beautiful autumn. Christmas is next month!!! I wouldn’t believe it if it wasn’t for the fact that it’s THAT time of year again! You know which time?  Red Starbucks Cup time!!!! Truth be told, I drink Starbucks as a last resort(ok a second last resort to Tim Hortons). It is generic but consistent and I don’t hate it, it’s just…typical. But there is something about the red cups that just warms my heart. It’s become a seasonal icon of my generation. I don’t even EVER drink the seasonal Starbucks drinks! (somewhat because I don’t like sweetened coffee of any sort but mostly because I credit my 40lb weight gain whilst pregnant with Picky Princess, almost entirely to Starbucks egg nog lattes.) Never again. But when Sexy Husband brought me home an Americano in a red cup, I felt warm and quite possibly, festive.

So I whipped up this little recipe for some reasonably clean festive cookies. You know, there is a reason that Martha insists that cookie dough be chilled, and then rolled and then chilled and then cut and then chilled and then baked. Most the time I have to ignore at least a couple of those steps because I don’t have time to sit inside all day as if baking pretty cookies is my only task of the day. And this pinwheel cookie recipe is the type of dough that I totally should have chilled for longer. But I didn’t. Because Picky Princess was too excited about them to make her wait, and, like I said, it’s 21 degrees outside so we have big plans for the park. So they didn’t turn out to be quite as pretty as pinwheel cookies can be. But they are delicious, and autumnish, and barely indulgent. So give them a try!

Cinnamon Pinwheel Cookies

Makes about a dozen

1 1/4 cups spelt flour

1/4 tsp baking soda

pinch of coarse sea salt (don’t skip this, really adds a nice zing to the cookies)

1/2 cup butter, room temperature

1/2 cup raw cane sugar (or brown sugar if you prefer)

1 egg

1/2 tsp vanilla

Filling:

1/2 cup dates

1/2 cup sliced almonds

2 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

Sift flour, baking soda and salt together into a large bowl. Set aside. In the bowl of an electric mixer, beat butter and sugar together until creamy, 2 minutes, scraping down sides as needed. Add egg and vanilla, beat until combined. Reduce speed to low and add in flour mixture. Collect dough into a ball, wrap in plastic and chill until solid, one hour or so.

Remove from fridge. On a lightly floured parchment papered surface, roll out dough into a large rectangle, about 1/2 inch thick. Return rectangle to freezer while you make the filling. For filling, combine dates, nuts and cinnamon in a food processor and process until it is small crumbly pieces. Sprinkle this over the rectangle of dough. Carefully roll the dough up into a long tube. Cute dough into 1 inch circles, lay on silicone or parchment covered baking sheet. Bake at 350 for 15 minutes or until starting to turn golden. Remove and let cool(if you can). Enjoy!

***tip – to speed up chill time, put dough in the freezer for a while instead of fridge, dough can be made one day ahead and chilled overnight***

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. slmajor
    Nov 05, 2010 @ 11:31:00

    I am so excited to try these!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

