Recipe: Lemon Cranberry Scones

lemon cranberry scones

This recipe is for my dear and lovely friend Kristin. She’s got a great foodie blog, and we have lots in common, including the fact that she has her very own Picky Princess to cook for, her husband Kevin! (just kidding Kevin, waaaay to manly to be a princess). Anyway, Kristin requested a lemon cranberry scone recipe so Picky P and I whipped this up today.

I will just say…for whatever reason, depending on what kind of fruit I seem to add, my scones turn out to be either perfect, or kind of flat and cookie like. These turned out to be flat-ish blobs. It actually kind of worked out great because then I cut them into small triangles, perfect snack size. They are also too delicious to not post, just because they’re not super pretty.

Lemon Cranberry Scones

Makes 12

2 1/2 cups spelt flour

1 cup oats

1 tbs baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

zest of one lemon

1/2 cup butter, cut into 1 inch cubes

juice of one lemon

1 cup buttermilk (you can use milk if you have to)

1/2 cup honey (plus more for drizzling)

1/2 cup fresh cranberries

 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425.

In a food processor, pulse to combine all dry ingredients.

Add zest and butter and pulse until resembles coarse meal.

Add lemon juice, buttermilk and honey, cranberries. Pulse until combined.

Dough will be VERY wet and sticky. Using a spatula, scoop batter onto WELL floured surface.

With floured hands, fold dough over 2 or 3 times, without over processing, until dough can be formed into two disks, approximately 6 inches in diameter.

Cut each disk into 6 pieces. Place scones on parchment lined baking sheets and drizzle with honey.

Bake for 12-15 minutes or until starting to turn golden on the outside. Do not overbake.

note: the reason these scones have such a delicate and perfect texture is because the dough is so soft. So don’t be panicked if it seems hard to handle.

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lori
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 07:42:04

    I was so excited when I read the blog title as I have a lemon calling my name, a freezer full of cranberries (they were SO cheap after Thanksgiving) AND I don’t know what’s for breakfast yet. But alas, I have no spelt flour. 😦
    Why do you use spelt flour instead of wheat flour anyway? Does someone in your family have an allergy or intolerance?

    Reply

    • figandfennel
      Oct 30, 2010 @ 08:34:22

      I use spelt because I like how it bakes better than whole wheat flour. But you could definitely interchange them. I’m sure you could interchange with white flour even! No intolerances here, but I am conscious that we(in North America) eat a disproportionate amount of wheat as a grain instead of the many other healthy grains: quinoa, rice, millet, buckwheat, farro, barley, kamut etc. So I try to not always have straight wheat in our baking. Spelt is an ancient form or wheat, which has a significant amount less gluten in it compared to wheat. But honestly I most bake with it because I love the texture and almost nutty taste. Let me know how it goes with a substitute!

      Reply

  2. kjanzen
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 10:23:02

    Yaaaaaay! Thank you friend! I have never had a recipe developed just for me. I feel special. I seriously must try this, perhaps today because I have a glorious day of nothing ahead of me! Thank you! You rock!
    (like the disproportionate amount of wheat we eat, there is a diproportionate amount of exclamation marks in this comment. !!!!!).

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Recipe: Olive and Romano Scones « fig & fennel

Leave a Reply

