Recipe: Tomato Feta Confit

tomato feta confit

Confession: I don’t really get that excited about the slow cooker. I know…gasp…right? I use the slow cooker for the odd meal, most frequently to cook beans, but I think I associate the slow cooker with meaty dishes. You know, stick a roast and some potatoes in, and by the end of the day…dinner! And definitely the slow cooker comes in handy for this, but I make so few meat dishes that usually I choose other methods to prepare it when I do. I also probably don’t use it that often because meals for me are not about how quickly and conveniently I can make something. I like to cook, and usually have or make the time to do it. However, slow cookers are great for a number of reasons, including the convenience piece. They use a FRACTION of the energy that heating an oven requires. To have the slow cooker on all day is still significantly more green than using the oven at all! Slow cookers also seem to represent those recipes we all want when we are cold or tired or needing to be comforted. It seems fallish doesn’t it?

Kristy-Anne is away for a couple of weeks(sniff…sob) but she left me a huge bag of tomatoes from her aunt’s garden. They are so red and so delicious and I’ve enjoyed cooking some tomato based meals this week. Today I whipped up this little recipe and it is so easy, about 5 ingredients, slow cooker friendly, and perfect fall comfort food. I hope you enjoy it! The potatoes and tomatoes combine to be perfectly falling apart but not too liquidy. The feta makes it a bit creamy, and the greek oregano makes the house smell too delicious for words.

Tomato Feta Confit

Serves about 4

approx 2 lbs new potatoes, quartered

approx 6 medium tomatoes, quartered

4 garlic cloves, peeled

1/2 cup crumbled feta

1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

1/4 cup water

1/2 tsp oregano(or a greek spice mix)

sea salt to taste

Directions: In a slow cooker, combine all ingredients. Heat on high until bubbling (approx 1 hour) and then low until you’re ready to eat (or low all day). Serve with a salad for a vegetarian entree, or as a side dish!

Confession: I scooped some out to take a picture(above) and promptly ate the whole bowl. Random afternoon snack!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wendy Nilsen
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 20:33:49

    I for one love the convenience of the slow cooker! This will be tried once we’ve moved! Yum!

    Reply

  2. Colleen
    Oct 20, 2010 @ 19:34:25

    Delicious!! Made this tonight and it was fabulous and soooo easy! Thanks for the great recipe. It’s a good one to remember for having company over too – the feta and oregano make it seem gourmet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

