Think Fresh: Coconut Water

 

Lots of delicious flavors

 

I have recently become addicted to…Bikram Yoga. I’ve practiced yoga somewhat regularly for the last 4 years but have always been a bit intimidated by hot yoga. But…it was time. So a few weeks ago I started and honestly, 5 minutes in, and I was HOOKED. I love it with a capital L. I feel such an overwhelming surge of energy and elation, I find myself scheming about how and when I can get back to the studio. Anyway, as is characteristic for me, when I dive in, it’s off the high platform and with full scuba gear. So when they recommend coconut water as a post yoga drink…well then I buy myself some coconut water! I brought one home, slightly skeptical, after the first class I went to and it was super yummy. Reading up on it, I found out that it is seriously, intensely good for you(me, we). Both my girls can’t get enough of it and quite frankly, that is fine with me! So we’ve stocked up. But I wanted to share the claimed health benefits with you. Consider adding it to your healthy lifestyle!

Coconut water, on top of being deliciously refreshing is also:

Low in Fat 99% Fat Free
Keeps the body cool and at the proper temperature
Contains organic compounds possessing growth promoting properties
Cures malnourishment
Effective in the treatment of kidney and urethral stones
Natural drink for feeding infants suffering from intestinal disturbances
Excellent oral re-hydration medium, an all natural isotonic for all ages
Re-hydrate naturally, free of added sugars or chemicals
Lower arterial pressure
Relieve spasms and stomach pain
Ease burns
Natural diuretic
Presence of saline and albumen makes it an excellent drink in cholera cases
Maintains the human body’s natural fluid levels
Can be injected intravenously in emergency cases
Found as a blood plasma substitute because it is sterile, does not produce heat, and does not destroy red blood cells and is readily accepted by the body
Helps in carrying nutrients and oxygen to cells
Eliminate swelling in hands and feet
Normalize the intestinal function and raise metabolism
Heal damage induced by antibiotics and toxins in the digestive tract
Boost poor circulation

It’s like a miracle drink!!! I’ve tried plain coconut water and coconut water with pineapple puree and guava puree. All equally delicious.

Let me know what you think!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather
    Oct 15, 2010 @ 15:52:53

    I LOVE Coconut Water (pretty much love coconut everything). It’s far superior in replacing lost electrolytes in your body than, say, Gatorade (which is full of colour and other unnatural things). YAY!

    Reply

  2. Christine
    Oct 15, 2010 @ 16:50:39

    I’ve been wanting to try hot yoga but I feel it might be too intense for me at this time. And I don’t do “regular” yoga so it might be more of a challenge.

    Coconut water sounds interesting. Might be good after general exercise as well!

    Reply

  3. laurel schultz
    Oct 24, 2010 @ 14:09:18

    I’m excited to try this as a workout recovery drink and or anytime treat. Ps recently started yoga so pumped.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

