Thoughts On: Cooking with Kids

 

my best little helpers making cookies

 

Today, Picky Princess had her little friend Sweet Hanna over for a playdate! In between playing, I had them help make lunch so that we could give you some new ideas for healthy lunches that your kids can help make! I’m a firm believer in including my kids in the cooking/baking/preparing process of meals, whenever possible. I try to make meal time fun and full of quality time and important life lessons about gratitude, caring for each other and community.

We started by making some cookies. I used the easiest recipe in. the. world. Adapted from Clean Eating Magazine’s Almond Butter Cookie Recipe. (see below). Because it’s all of 5 ingredients in one bowl, they girls stirred while I poured and we had batter ready in about 3 minutes.

 

cheese toast faces

 

 

quite proud of their creative cuteness

 

Next, the girls decorated cheese toast with some vegetables to make funny faces. They giggled and happily decorated! We used red peppers for smiles, arugula for hair, and olives for eyes. I cannot believe Picky Princess ate ARUGULA!

 

yogurt sundaes

 

While the cheese toast toasted, Sweet Hanna and Picky Princess made themselves a first course of yogurt sundaes. This was a HIT! The fact that they got to put anything they wanted on their own yogurt made them particularly enthusiastic to eat it!

 

Little Sister Nola

 

Sweet Hanna’s Little Sister Nola even got to make her own sundae. She’s only two but was happy to be included in meal prep fun!

 

Foodie Baby

 

And of course, I couldn’t leave Foodie Baby out.

I did minimal prep ahead of time, the girls cooked, ate, and cleaned up in 30 minutes. Sometimes we leave our kids out of the fun because we think it will all take a bit too long, are rushed, or stressed. But it’s amazing how helpful they can be when they are empowered to participate. Obviously I don’t include Picky Princess in every meal I make, but when there’s an easy meal, or tasks perfect for little fingers, I definitely try to include her(even if it means 2 minutes of extra clean up time)!

Recipe: Almond Butter Cookies

1 cup almond butter(I prefer crunchy)

1/2 cup succanat or cane sugar

1 egg

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 heaping tbs flour(I use spelt)

Directions: Preheat oven to 350. Stir all ingredients in a bowl. Drop by tbs full onto parchment lined baking sheet. Bake until barely set, 8-10 minutes. Let cool slightly, enjoy! (ok seriously, how easy is that?) (I have also been known to add the odd square of dark chocolate to the tops of these cookies.)

Thank you to my friend Danielle for lending me her adorable girls!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kjanzen
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 15:04:24

    oh my goodness. they look like little tiny women in the kitchen!!!! so stinking cute!!! i love your ideas!

    Reply

  2. tdhncamp
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 15:05:22

    You are welcome to my adorable girls ANYTIME! 🙂 We had a ton of fun with both the making food and the playing! And as a bonus, now hanna knows what colour your floors are….haha!
    thanks again, we had a great time!

    Reply

  3. carolyn neary
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 15:35:57

    Even when you’re in your 50’s cheeze toast faces taste better…they were great!

    Reply

  4. Joelle Doering
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 18:29:58

    Alison, I have another cookie recipe that calls for spelt flour, would you mind explaining to me what is the difference, and why do you choose to use it?

    I will be trying these cookies this weekend, I love your blog!!

    xx
    J

    Reply

  5. figandfennel
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 19:15:57

    Joelle,
    I use spelt for literally everything I bake. The texture bakes up so nicely compared to whole wheat which is a bit more dense. It is an ancient form of wheat with much lower gluten content. People with wheat sensitivities(not allergies) can usually handle spelt. It’s high in some minerals too(can’t remember quite which ones…)

    Reply

  6. Wendy Nilsen
    Oct 08, 2010 @ 21:52:14

    Alison, I must confess, I don’t particularily enjoy cooking/baking. I wasn’t really domestic growing up; rather would hang out with friends, go out for food….then once I was engaged, learned to bake while I lived overseas. LOVED IT! Came back to Canada & our non-convection ovens don’t do justice for breads…Anyways. Then we had kids & the more I learn about food & all the harmful foods, I just get so discouraged to cook/bake. All this to say, your posts, this one & the one about what food means to you really have challenged me & inspired me to be more passionate about cooking. Thank you!

    Reply

  7. Monika
    Oct 25, 2010 @ 12:13:17

    Trying these cookies today! I like the raw almond butter better than the roasted kind on my toast, but for these cookies I will use the roasted so I can get rid of it! Looking forward to more entries! The cheese toast sandwiches looked yummy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

