Thoughts On: Growth

family of little feet

I did some thinking today, while out on a long run.

It’s been so grey and cold and miserable here and finally the sun broke through and the chill in the air subsided. In a week, Sexy Husband and I are running the Calgary Harvest Half Marathon. This is my second half, and his first(although truth be told he runs circles around me without having to do a whole lot of training). The first one I did was last May, and it was the end of 8 months of dedicated training and slow movement, one kilometer at a time from being a total non-runner, to being…a runner. It still shocks me that this is something I can do! And while crossing the finish line was great and represented a major area of personal growth, it really wasn’t the achievement I was proud of. The growth, in life, doesn’t come from the accomplishment. It comes from living a life that is capable of producing an accomplishment. The living part. The accomplishment for me was that I lived for 8 months with consistency and discipline. Every hour of training reflected spiritual growth from hours of reflective gratitude, for such a beautiful world, and the freedom to do something I love. Hours of sacrifice. Hours of training my body to be healthy and my mind to be sound. Hours of taking care of myself. Hours of deep conversation the odd time I had company(what happens on the road stays on the road). Hours that I struggled and hurt and fought and won and…grew.

For me, it was never really about the Finish Line. It was about the training. I think this is usually were the victory is. We can all rattle off our accomplishment list, and we should be proud of it! But the growth usually comes from the less glamorous part of our lives…The day to day sacrifice and hardwork. The discipline, the studying, whatever the goal requires.

If you are working to lose weight, if you are working to get fit, if you are studying for a degree, or whatever your personal goals may be….KNOW that your victory is not a number, or a race time, or a piece of paper. It’s in every bite, every step, every page.

Today’s deep thoughts from the road.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lori
    Sep 25, 2010 @ 22:55:42

    Good one. Thanks.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Tweets that mention Thoughts On: Growth « fig & fennel -- Topsy.com
  3. Wendy
    Sep 27, 2010 @ 20:28:50

    LOVED this post! It’s so so true!

    Reply

  4. Charlene Z
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 18:19:27

    I have to be honest… Your post made me tear up – in a good way. Thank you for your honesty & encouragement to me!! This is important, this is real, this is life. Beautiful inspiration!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

