Thoughts on: Gratitude

I think that of all of the deep and soul-centering values in my life, Gratitude is probably at the top of the list. I just don’t see any way for me to live without it. It is central to my days, the challenges, the moments, the essence of the life I live. I am truly and deeply grateful for my life and nearly every little detail of it. I am grateful for Sexy Husband and speechless at how perfectly he loves me. I am grateful for my daughters, the Wonder and Delight of my life. I am grateful for my generous and life-giving family: to have and to be a daughter and sister. I am grateful for my incomparable and stunningly beautiful friends and neighbors. I am grateful for my faith and my freedom. I am beyond grateful that I wake up in the morning and think: hmm how will we live and love today, and then we live and love that way. I am grateful.

Gratitude keeps us grounded. It keeps us humble. It guides us away from living a bit too “entitled.” It reminds us that we need each other and where I am weak, someone will be strong, and where I have strength, someone will always be in need.

And I pray, with all the faith I can muster, that my girls will grow to center their lives around gratitude. That somehow we can find the balance between giving them all the joys of life, and all the bounty of the harvest, while reminding them that each breath is a gift, each seed is a treasure and that even in the drought, there is joy found in each other.

Grounded

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cory
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 21:18:32

    perfect

    Reply

  2. kjanzen
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 23:11:57

    you, my friend, are a poet. beautiful!

    Reply

  3. Danielle Camp
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 08:01:06

    Love!

    Reply

  4. Wendy Howe
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 11:25:36

    Beautiful…. I am going to have to explore your blog now.. Thanks for stopping by this morning, it’s a little nerve wracking exposing my guts that way, just felt it. And now I want to Thank YOU. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

