Recipe: Zucchini and Feta Pasta

This meal literally took 20 minutes from standing at the open fridge pondering to eating. And it was super yummy and fresh tasting so…I thought I would post it. Obviously it featured zucchini, because that’s the theme of the week, and from the picture you can see that it also had an almost embarrasing helping of crumbled feta. Probably why I loved it so much. It was a hit with Sexy Husband and Foodie Baby…

Zucchini and Feta Pasta

Zucchini and Feta Pasta

Heat 2 tbs extra virgin olive oil in a large frying pan over medium heat. While it’s heating, finely chop one garlic clove, and use an apple peeler to shave ribbons off half a yellow zucchini and half a green zucchini(or whatever you have) and slice up some mushrooms. Add these ingredients to the oil and saute. Add some coarse sea salt. Bring a large pot of water to boil and cook some very thin noodles. I used super thin egg noodles(not perhaps the healthiest choice). Meanwhile, add the juice from one lemon and about 1/4 cup of white wine and simmer vegetables until the pasta is ready. Drain pasta, top with veggies, sprinkle with feta. Voila.

I’m working on so many things I’m quite excited about. A couple of great features on local businesses doing very cool things…Some GREAT giveaways…A couple of very inspiring people…A couple of very pretty things…An exciting endeavor, lead up to my 30th birthday….AND a weekly guest post by my brilliant and talented Nutritionist-Ironman-Super Inspiring Sister. Stay tuned.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. colleen klatt
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 21:51:13

    We had the zucchini pasta tonight. Yum! Thanks for this recipe. The zucchini was so tasty, we could have eaten the sauce straight – without the pasta! How much pasta did you use? I’m wondering if we had too much pasta for the amount of sauce I made.

    Also, I made the Kamut Mushroom Spinach dish last night (can you tell that you inspire me!?!). Only, I had purchased Kamut cereal instead of the Kamut grain so I substituted millet and it turned out quite nice, although I think the millet absorbed more of the “gravy” than I would have liked.

    Needless to say Kamut is good as a cereal, even my girls are eating their “kamut oatmeal” for breakfast and loving it.

    Can’t wait to try the Zucchini Barley muffins!

    Reply

    • figandfennel
      Sep 09, 2010 @ 22:07:50

      Hi Colleen! I agree I like the zucchini as a dish on its own! I think we probably had half zucchini to half pasta, its definitely not a saucy sauce. Millet is a great idea for that one! I do keep hearing that kamut is tricky to find in full grain form! If I see it again I will make sure to let you know where’s it from. I think that whole recipe would be great with barley too!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

