Cookbook Potential: Vegetarian Strudel

Pesto Goat Cheese Vegetable Strudel

Today, Sexy Husband and I are celebrating 7 years of wedded bliss! So I wanted to make something nice and, let’s be honest, I never turn down a chance to experiment and maybe whip up something new for the cookbook. It turned out to be so so yummy so it may just make an appearance in the cookbook. I need to come up with some way of making phyllo pastry healthier(so basically I need a miracle), before it will really earn cookbook possibility. But I guess there’s always room for the odd treat. I haven’t written this down as a full recipe but here’s the basic idea in case you want to give it a try…

Make the pesto: In a food processor, pulse together fresh basil, pine nuts, olive oil, lemon juice, garlic and salt.

Prep the phyllo: Brush 8 layers of good quality phyllo pastry with a little bit of melted butter and layer them on a baking sheet.

Spread the pesto down the center of the pastry. Crumble a generous amount of goat cheese on top of the pesto. Layer with any vegetables you like. I used: zucchini, tomato, green pepper, mini patty pan squash, mushroom, onion.

Fold pastry over the vegetables brush with egg wash. Bake at 350 for about an hour.  This served four of us, as an entree with a little left over.

Give it a try and let me know what you think!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Monika
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 16:29:30

    Sounds wonderful. Question: have you ever cooked with zucchini flowers? Apparently the flower of the patty pan squash is one of the most flavourful to cook with.

    Reply

  2. figandfennel
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 17:04:53

    I have only ever cooked/eaten the blossoms battered and fried, which is absolutely delicious but I’m SURE there have to be more ways to eat them. I’ll look for them at the farmer’s market on Friday and let you know if I find any!

    Reply

  3. Charise
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 20:52:37

    Alison, just made this tonight for dinner and it was fabulous! My only addition was eggplant. Would definitely get my vote for the cookbook.

    Reply

  4. Kim
    Aug 14, 2010 @ 16:24:58

    Actually you can get spelt phyllo pastry from Community. I’ve tried it and worked with it and it is just as good if not better than white flour phyllo pastry. Not to mention the cost is not much different so definitely worth buying.

    Reply

  5. karen
    Aug 14, 2010 @ 16:33:06

    I made this two nights ago Alison! It was really yummy! I didn’t have pine nuts or goat cheese- so I used cream cheese instead of goat’s cheese and then I use fresh basil instead of pesto. I was very good!

    Kare

    Reply

  6. figandfennel
    Aug 14, 2010 @ 16:37:35

    ooo SO glad to hear they have spelt flour phyllo there! I will definitely give it a try!

    Reply

  7. Jessica
    Aug 20, 2010 @ 08:27:16

    DELISH!!! Made 2 of these last night for our family and my parents… a raving success! I did add some crushed red pepper to the pesto to spicen it up a bit!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

