Recipe: Grasshopper Pie

grasshopper pie

Hello! I am writing from beautiful Sunny Penticton! My parents rented a house here for a week so IronSister and her husband and Sexy Husband and the Girls and I are all here enjoying the beach and some family time. We’ve had all sorts of beautiful moments doing things we love. There’s something extremely satisfying for me about eating breakfast outside. Sexy Husband and I have gone for a couple of runs together, and the Girls are at the perfect age to be really fun at the beach. Happy Heart.

My Mom and Sister both like to cook like me, simple, fresh, fruit and vegetable focused meals. So we’ve had some great food like that. Lots of homemade salsa and guacamole, corn on the cob, fresh cherries and nectarines. The boys have been on bbq duty and there is no shortage of great wineries around to keep our glasses full.

While in family mode, I thought I would share a recipe that’s a bit of a family “secret.” We all have these recipes don’t we? I know Grandma’s fudge recipe, or her shortbread, and my mom’s lemon squares and yorkshire pudding recipes, are kind of sacred parts of our family history. This one is my Dad’s Aunt Billie’s recipe for Grasshopper Pie. It’s a simple and refreshing dessert, yet still a bit decadent. My Dad doesn’t eat any sugar. Ever. Literally he has not had sugar in almost 2 years(he’s super disciplined that way and makes my diet look like a trash bin). But when I told him I’d made Aunt Billie’s Grasshopper Pie…he almost caved. Usually it’s the sentimentality of these recipes more than even the taste. My only memory of Aunt Billie is eating this pie she’d made and thinking to myself that it was just so beautiful, the perfect shade of green. I cook, and include my Girls in it, in large part so that they will remember all the time spent laughing and talking and learning together. I hope they remember me in the zest of a lemon, the pinch of basil leaves, and the mini magical bubbles of a blackberry.

Grasshopper Pie

Step one: make an oreo crumb crust. I do this with 2 cups of oreo cookie crumbs and a tbs or two of melted butter, pressed together into a pie plate. Bake at 350 for about 10 mins. Remove and cool completely.

Step two: with electric beaters(or in the bowl of an electric mixer, with paddle attachment) beat together 1 block of cream cheese, and about 1/2 cup sugar. Add a bit of green food dye, just enough to make it pale green, and pure peppermint extract to taste. Start with 1/2 a tsp and work up from there. Beat until smooth. In a separate bowl, beat 1 cup of whipping cream with 1/4 cup icing sugar until soft peaks form. Fold whipped cream into cream cheese mixture until smooth. Spread in pie crust and freeze until firm. At least 2 hrs or overnight. Remove from freezer about 5-10 minutes before serving.

** the picture above is one I did for a larger crowd, in a 9×13 dish and added some crumbled cookies on top. Take your liberties!

If anyone is willing to share, I would love to hear what your family secret recipes are!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 14:36:57

    That’s awesome!!! I would love to make a gluten free version out of gluten free oreos (oh yes, they exist). Do you just use the whole cookie or just the crumbs? If I was lazy (and I am) could I just use the whole cookie do you think rather than separate?

    Reply

  2. Wendy
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 14:36:58

    Sounds yum. And your dad is my hero in the eating department. Zero sugar, that’s very impressive. It’s everywhere.

    Our family recepie is so simple. We have homemade pizza every single Saturday. It’s a recepie from Kev’s family.
    1L multigrain flour
    4dL water
    2tbsp yeast
    1tsp salt.

    Mix (bring water to warm to activate the yeast). Let rise with saran wrap & towel for min. 1/2 hour. Roll out, top with favorite toppings, bake ca. 20 min at 400C.

    Enjoy!

    Reply

  3. figandfennel
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 23:01:31

    Wendy! That sound delish and is pretty much identical to my pizza dough recipe! Heather, I’ve done it both as whole cookies, or usually I’ll just buy the oreo wafers, but you could use any gf chocolate wafers. I’ve seen those homemade oreo recipes…I NEED to try them. I also saw recently a recipe for homemade twix bars. mmmm

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

