Recipe: Mini Stuffed Peppers

mini stuffed peppers

I love to entertain. That’s not really true. I LOVE to feed people that I love. I love it when my people are around my little kitchen table, wine has been poured, laughter rings, stories are exchanged, and everyone is fed. If I plan a big meal for people, it doesn’t really matter to me much if the raspberry compote is swirled just so, or if the basil garnish is chopped just perfectly. I appreciate beautiful and intricate food, but I’m mostly concerned with the food being healthy, tasting great, and not taking me away from the conversation around me. I don’t do the whole hide-in-the-kitchen-until-I-dramatically-unveil-perfectly-plattered-meals business. So I have a great appreciation for recipes that can either be prepped ahead or at least don’t take up too much hands on time when I know one of my hands will be holding a wine glass and the other will be dramatically gesturing in conversation.

This little appy recipe is so easy and simple it should barely be considered a recipe. But it is one of my go-to’s because it fits what I’m looking for: healthy, super yummy, so easy.

Wishing you all: the deepest of conversation, the richest of friendships, the fullest of stomachs!

Mini Stuffed Peppers

plan on 3 mini peppers/person

mini bell peppers, I bought some organic ones in red, yellow and orange

2 tbs extra virgin olive oil

1 garlic clove, minced

a dozen or so mushrooms, scrubbed and coarsely chopped

crumbled feta

cracked pepper

Directions: Preheat oven to 375. In a frying pan, heat oil over medium high heat. Add garlic and mushrooms and saute until golden. Meanwhile halve the mini peppers, leaving the green stem intact. Remove seeds. Crumble as much feta as you like into the mushrooms. Stir. Place peppers in a glass baking dish. Place a tbs or so of the mushroom mix into each pepper. Roast until peppers are turning a bit golden, 30-45mins. Serve hot!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Arlene Miller II
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 13:44:33

    Those look delicious AND pretty! My favorite combo for food, the only way to earn extra points beyond that is if a recipe is healthy… and this one gets those too! Spot on, thank you for posting.

    I’m subscribing and look forward to more good stuff like these :)

    Reply

  2. Heather
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 13:47:58

    Look at you, on a roll! These sound amazing! LOVE!

    Reply

  3. The Orange Bee
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 16:14:08

    DOn’t you love those little sweet peppers? I’ve been following your blog for quite sometime. It’s refreshing. I tagged you in the Easter Menu game – if you have time it’s fun. Keep up the great work!

    Reply

  4. Wendy Nilsen
    Apr 23, 2011 @ 13:43:29

    These were a hit last night! Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

