I’m Inspired By: Nothing.

How’s that for the most inspiring title ever for a blog post? I took a picture of our bbq. It is buried under 4 feet of snow. It is APRIL 2. It has officially been snow covered and ridiculous and cold and dead since November. That’s right people, our 6th month of the white stuff.

This, does NOTHING for my inspiration. This does not make me dream of watermelon and fresh salads, of key limes and lemonade. No, this makes me want to order pizza. I have never ordered so much pizza in my life. Time, reflection, and let’s be honest, therapy, will probably help me figure out how to find inspiration outside of my immediate environment. Until this revelation comes to me, I have resorted to something I normally have no desire to do: meal plan.

I honestly understand why people meal plan. It helps you use ingredients you already have, saving money, it helps busy, full scheduled moms make dinner time smooth. But it’s just not for me(at least not in my usual highly-inspired-in-the-kitchen life). I keep the fridge stocked with enough fresh ingredients and inspiration comes to me in the moment and it hasn’t ever before been a problem. What if I don’t want to eat salmon on Saturday? What if I don’t want to use the cherry tomatoes this meal?

This is how desperate I am. So without further drabble, here is what I intend to feed my family this week:

Sunday: Friends over for wine, cheese fondue, and chocolate zucchini cake.

Monday: Tuna Nicoise Salad with blue potatoes, peas and boiled eggs.

Tuesday: Mushroom Risotto

Wednesday: Meatloaf (I know, random, we almost never eat meat. But Sexy Husband makes the best meatloaf and we picked up some organic ground beef from Hoven Farm, so…it’s happening).

Thursday: Stuffed Peppers – rice, beans, fresh salsa, cheddar.

Friday: Night on the town

Saturday: Roasted carrot and dill soup and homemade bread

So…we’ll see how it goes. Wish a little inspiration my way…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tawn
    Apr 02, 2011 @ 22:51:24

    I LAUGHED at this … you are one witty girl – love it. And meal planning – welcome to my life … although you are so right about “what if I want to make this with that instead … “. So – I’ve actually become less anal, because I’m now stuffing my fridge with the fresh stuff often and so it’s easy to come up with something. Waiting patiently for your book, my friend :-). PS … I ran 12km today. Yay!! Xx

    Reply

  2. Lori
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 09:25:28

    Please post your salad nicoise recipe. I’m sure it’s not an actual recipe per se, but at least a picture. Pretty please?
    PS-I’ve really missed your posts, but completely understand your position. I am so tired of being grumpy about the weather I can hardly stand myself.

    Reply

  3. Wendy Nilsen
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 20:04:57

    I hear you! I am trying so hard to only speak positively about the snow, but I am DONE! And your meal plan sounds very yummy!! Hang in there! This too shall pass.

    Reply

  4. Rachel Richmond
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 10:23:45

    Title was hilarious. And I feel your pain. Although we don’t have snow here in Victoria our skies have never been grayer. Not even a ton of rain (although it is today…) per se, but just a complete lack of sunshine and brightness. Pizza. I totally get it ……

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

