Cookbook Preview: Brussels Sprouts

Brussels Sprouts

This post is dedicated to my fabulous blog friend Danielle in Vancouver, who has discovered a new love for Brussels sprouts and was looking for recipes. I happen to have the YUMMIEST Brussels sprouts recipe ever and it also happens to be in the cookbook, so: Cookbook Preview! Photos courtesy of Kristy-Anne at Up & Away Studios.

My dad, who is the healthiest man alive, loves all food EXCEPT Brussels Sprouts. Growing up, it was the only food that seemed to me like even grown ups think is DISGUSTING. They looked like awful little green brains and I refused to eat them. Then, we were visiting some family last year in Toronto. And my cousin Alex made this dish for us. I should title the recipe: Brussels Sprouts Are Not Disgusting. In fact they are amazing. And everytime I make this recipe, I hoard as many of them as possible. One of my favorite recipes of all time.

Enjoy!

Brussels Sprouts

approx 2 lbs of fresh brussel’s sprouts, halved

1 large sweet onion, sliced

3 tbs extra virgin olive oil

1/4 cup vegetable stock

3 tbs apple cider vinegar

1 tbs fresh rosemary, chopped

1/2 cup roasted sunflower seeds and/or pumpkin seeds

salt and pepper

Directions: Preheat oven to 400. Parboil brussel sprouts, drain. Combine sprouts with onions and toss with olive oil, salt and pepper. Roast in oven until golden and a bit crispy, approximately one hour. Combine herbs, stock and vinegar in a small saucepan. Simmer for 5 minutes. Put sprouts on a serving plate and pour stock mixture over them. Add sunflower seeds.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Holly
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 13:57:33

    I once used brussel sprouts to bribe my daughter to eat pizza. Seriously, my daughter still loves them more than pizza! Thanks for a recipe that will make them more palatable for the rest of us. :)

    Reply

  2. Heather
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 14:34:02

    Awesome recipe! Dani will be thankful. I have been in love with brussels since I made up my own roasting recipe last year….basically, I cut them in half, toss with olive oil, salt and pepper and roast. Easy peasy!
    Will def give these a try!!!

    Reply

  3. carolyn neary
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 14:35:57

    I can honestly say that this is an amazing dish.

    Reply

  4. Dani the Brussels Babe
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 14:39:07

    So excited! Making these tonight when I get home from Zumba class, with some yummy roast pork tenderloin! Yay for Cookbook Previews!

    Reply

  5. evieskit
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 17:11:01

    Hmmm. I have exactly 6 brussels sprouts in my fridge. Maybe I should make this!

    Reply

  6. Francis
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 18:02:25

    I came to love brussels sprouts only in last 10 years. But it had become an addiction. Am always looking for new ways to cook them.

    Reply

  7. Danielle Camp
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 09:02:24

    just may have to give these a try!!!

    Reply

  8. Trackback: Web Info Fox » Cookbook Preview: Brussels Sprouts
  9. Laken
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 07:18:55

    Brussel sprouts are my favorite food, hands down. I’m definitely going to try this recipe!

    Reply

  10. Karen Dean
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 21:35:58

    You have TRANSFORMED this vegetable for me. Wow!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

