Recipe: Mango Snack Cake

Mango Snack Cake

All summer I try very hard to buy as much local and organic produce as possible. I know, because I’ve read of people who have done it, that it’s possible to eat local all year here in the prairies, but I’m not quite hardcore enough for that. So when the local produce is gone we enjoy some of the less common tropical fruits available! Usually I can still find them organically grown, but if not, still better to eat lots of produce, than no produce!

This week at the Farmer’s Market, there was a sale on organic mangoes from Mexico. I bought quite a few and we’ve been enjoying them. Crazy to think that a mango is a more common fruit around the world than the apple is! Picky Princess and Foodie Baby love mangoes, so we went mango crazy this week!

Today Picky Princess and I whipped up this little cake recipe. It is healthy and delicious and makes a nice cold wintery afternoon snack. Truth be told, SHE made this cake. I helped by cracking an egg, measuring honey, and turning on the oven. In no time, she’ll be doing this without me! (sniff. sob. tear.)

It is easy and delicious, try it!  ***little note, it was just a snack for us, so it only makes one loaf pan size, so if you want more of it, I’m sure you could double it and put it in an 8×8 cake pan.***

Mango Snack Cake

1 cup spelt flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 cup honey

1 tsp vanilla

1 egg

1 cup chopped mango (about one large mango)

Directions: whisk together dry ingredients. set aside. Preheat oven to 350. Mix wet ingredients. Pour wet into dry and stir until just combined. Add mangoes and stir a bit more. Pour into pan and bake until set and browning at the edges, about 45 mins!

Foodie Baby having a snack

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: K West Hotel and Spa
  2. Robo Stir
    Dec 22, 2010 @ 12:10:00

    It’s interesting to see no sugar in this recipe. But I guess that is due to how naturally sweet the mango is. Your little food tester seems to be enjoying this treat. Great post.

    Reply

  3. Dark Mistress
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 01:10:19

    Congrats on a great recipe. I love sweets but am on a detox/weight-loss/health kick at the moment, so a recipe like this is perfect because it uses spelt and only honey as sweetener. It is Mango season right now in Australia. Good stuff.

    Reply

  4. Arielle
    May 17, 2011 @ 20:04:29

    I just had a mango sitting around, searched for a recipe and stumbled across yours! So wonderful! I used honey and agave nectar, and didn’t have a loaf pan so made them into mini muffins! Great recipe!

    Reply

  5. Achara
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 09:58:58

    Hi, I’ve been looking for a mango cake recipe for my daughter’s first birthday and found yours. I’m wondering if I can substitute honey with something else in this recipe? I would love to try this recipe out before her birthday and am afraid that she can’t have any honey. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

