Recipe: Bruschetta Baked Omelette

Bruschetta Baked Omelette

My cousin Alex Neary, has been a really big inspiration to me with the healthy cooking business! The best meal I’ve EVER eaten was cooked by Alex. When I decided to write a cookbook, the first thing I did was email her and ask for the 4 recipes she made that meal! Alex finished the same holistic nutritionist program as IronSister, so she’s a wealth of information. She also recently launched her photography business, Wild Eyed. If you are in the Toronto area and need a photographer: check. it. out. I asked Alex to be a guest blogger and the recipe below looks amazing. I think I might just make it myself tonight!

When Alison asked me to contribute to her blog I couldn’t decide on which recipe to write about. After much deliberating I decided on the one dish that I make at least once a week. It’s easy, has little clean up and includes one of the most perfect foods. Eggs. Delicious, nutritiously dense and perfect for any time of the day.

Eggs have a bad reputation. They’re accused of intensely raising our cholesterol, causing heart disease and making you fat. When in reality, they don’t! Only 15% of cholesterol is dietary, the rest is produced by our body from saturated fats. So, saturated fat intake plays a far more significant role. What do people usually eat eggs with? Bacon, sausages, hollandaise sauce, fried hasbrowns….coincidence? Research shows that other factors such as obesity, sedentary lifestyles, poor diet and smoking have a far greater impact on cholesterol levels than eggs do. That being said, there is a small amount of cholesterol present in eggs, but not enough to have a significant impact on your body. To confuse you even more, high cholesterol isn’t even a disease. Heart disease is, but high cholesterol is not. When I was in Nutrition school I remember one of my teachers saying ‘LDL (bad cholesterol) is like a fire alarm, when it’s raised it’s letting you know there’s a fire somewhere that needs to be put out.’ So in other words, if you have high cholesterol, there is a huge chance there is an underlying reason causing it and if you deal with that reason, your cholesterol will lower naturally.

Another issue that seems to arise when it comes to eggs is the yolk. A few days ago I was at the grocery store and was looking at some items and came across a carton of egg whites. My first beef with that is, how is it anymore convenient to open a carton than crack an egg? But I’ll leave that alone. The real problem with this is…where’s the yolk? Eggs are a whole food, so when you take the yolk away, they simply aren’t whole anymore. They were made to be eaten as a whole food! The yolk is where the majority of the goodness is. Yolks contain more than 90% of the calcium, iron, phosphorus, zinc, thiamin, B6, folate, and B12, and panthothenic acid of the egg. In addition, the yolks contain ALL of the fat soluble vitamins A, D, E, and K in the egg, as well as ALL of the essential fatty acids (EFAs). Eat your eggs as nature intended!!!!

Now that I’ve cleared that up, I’ll share with you my recipe. It takes no time at all to prepare, it’s satisfying and makes delicious leftovers!

Bruschetta Baked Omelette

Beat together 5-6 eggs until they are thoroughly combined.

In a separate bowl, combine;
3 diced tomatoes
1 minced red onion
5 chopped garlic cloves
a handful of basil chopped up (more if you like, I usually do A LOT!)
and some goat feta cheese crumbled up (I usually do A LOT of this too)

Add the bruschetta mixture to the eggs and stir it all together. Pour into a cast iron skillet (or any round oven proof dish) and season with some freshly ground pepper. Bake at 350 for approx 40mins (give or take). To be honest with you, I’m the type of chef that forgets when I have stuff in my oven but always seem to remember exactly when it’s perfectly done so I’m not entirely sure how long this takes to cook!

Easy Peasy….Bon Appetit

cast iron skillet

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. carolyn neary
    Nov 13, 2010 @ 16:52:32

    Thanks Alex….supper tomorrow!

    Reply

  2. Ken Chawkin
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 18:06:37

    Thanks for this blog and recipe. I love cooking omelettes! They’re the most creative and versatile food you can prepare for yourself and others to enjoy.

    Reply

  3. Colleen
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 20:57:43

    This is fabulous!! Every bite full of flavor, and so healthy too! This is going into my list of regular meals. I even got to impress my mother in law, who happened to drop by just before dinner, with this dish.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

