I’m Inspired By: Made By Momma

off to deliver food to Made By Momma

There is this amazing non-profit organization I’ve recently discovered here in Calgary. It’s called Made By Momma and they collect and distribute homemade food and baby items to new parents who are dealing with challenges such as: poverty, being new to the city and not having friends or family to support them, recent lay offs, injuries, things like that. They deliver food, baby supplies, and help direct them to people who can help them even more. They have volunteers who can provide services and support to help families make it through! I just think it’s a wonderful example of True Community.

I made some calls to the girls in the Village and we collected some baked goods, meals, and baby items and went and dropped them off today. I brought Picky Princess with me, because I do everything I can to include her in activities that provide her with a chance to reflect on her life, reasons to be grateful, and help other people. Also my Dear Friend Tracey, and her Smiling Winsome.

When Sexy Husband and I brought home Picky Princess from the hospital 4.5 years ago, we were like most new parents, completely and utterly terrified by the 5 pounds of precious cargo we held. We were exhausted, in love, and overwhelmed. The church we attended organized meals for all the new parents, and for 10 days, at 5pm on the dot, the doorbell would ring with a hot meal for us. We sat at the table every night, completely overwhelmed with love and support. Amazing how a meal can be so much more than a meal. It can be hope, family, peace, comfort. I think this was the birth of my love of cooking for others.

So it was a joy this week to cook for Made By Momma. If you live in Calgary I would encourage you to check out their website. It took exactly 30 seconds longer to double a muffin recipe. We can all do something. Even something small like muffins. I would like to extend a sincere thank you to my friends who contributed to this little food drive. Thank you for taking the time, I know you’re all busy, and thank you to the friends who couldn’t this time, but maybe next time!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sheree Iffla
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 09:15:20

    AWESOME!!!!! I had never heard of this, but I’m glad you took the time to contribute :)
    The girls (including the big one!) are looking great xx

    Reply

  2. Jenny
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 11:27:06

    What a great thing to do! And what a blessing to those who are able to benefit from the organisation!

    Reply

  3. Heather
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 19:29:16

    What an incredible organization!!

    Reply

  4. Tracey
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 21:31:51

    It was a pleasure to join in on something so wonderful.
    Lets make it a regular occurrence!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

