Recipe: Chocolate Mousse

chocolate mousse

You’re going to have to just trust me on this one…

A friend of mine had, a while ago, mentioned that she had a recipe for chocolate mousse that involved dates and an avocado. I thought that sounded pretty gross, but she assured me it was delicious. Today, I discovered that every single last molecule of chocolate has disappeared from the house. I desperately tried to find her recipe(or any recipe for that matter, that involved cocoa powder, but no sugar) and…couldn’t. Sad. But not having a recipe to follow has never stopped me before so in the a-little-bit-of-this-and-a-little-bit-of-that style…I came up with this version of chocolate mousse. I can assure you, your family or friends will have no idea that this chocolate mousse is not loaded in sugar, cream and eggs!

Chocolate Mousse

Serves 4

1 avocado(I know, seems weird)

1/2 brick of cream cheese, room temperature

1/2 cup agave nectar

4 tbs cocoa powder

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp pure vanilla

Directions: beat ingredients together until smooth and whippy, approx 5 mins, scraping down sides of bowl if necessary. Taste and adjust agave nectar and cinnamon to your pleasing. Scoop into bowls and chill for 1 hour. Serve!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Colleen Klatt
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 17:28:19

    I love that you put cream cheese in this! I have tried making avocado mousse for my family before and I’ve had to keep adding more and more sugar and cocoa to make it work and it still is blah. But I love the cream cheese idea, sounds like a real winner. Will have to try!

    Reply

  2. Lori
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 19:07:17

    Um…really?!
    This is just weird enough to give a try.

    Reply

  3. figandfennel
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 19:22:17

    I know! really! it’s worth a try!

    Reply

  4. Wendy Nilsen
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 20:31:33

    Alison, it’s perfect! If I can get my act together in time, I’ll make this for J’s birthday party (we don’t do cakes at this age yet). Where do you buy the necter from?

    Reply

    • figandfennel
      Oct 19, 2010 @ 17:21:35

      I get agave nectar from Superstore (health section) or Planet Organic. It is the nectar from a cactus, tastes exactly like sugar, unlike all other sweeteners, is 25% sweeter than sugar so you can use less. Does very little to spike blood sugar, even better for you than maple syrup or honey!

      Reply

  5. Chelsey Hautz
    Oct 19, 2010 @ 10:31:18

    Found your blog through Jolene F. and can’t get enough! This recipe reminds me of a chocolate avocado dip she made us one night to dip with fruit.

    This one is just as yummy….I have 2 beautiful teacups full cooling in my fridge as we speak!

    Thanks.

    Reply

  6. tdhncamp
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 17:10:20

    Yum! I can’t keep little 4 year old fingers out of the bowl! So far the concensus in this house is delish – daddy isn’t home to try it yet! :)

    Reply

  7. Jamie-Dee
    Nov 02, 2010 @ 19:24:01

    Made this tonight….a HUGE hit! Thank you for sharing :o)

    Reply

  8. Michele Busch
    Nov 04, 2010 @ 01:24:59

    This sounds delish, I have been posting recipes on shakes I have to drink for my detox cleanse . I used avocado with some fruit and it was great so your recipe is a for sure way to sneak some green into my hubbies Pudding! Thx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

