Recipe: Cinnamon Spaghetti Squash

Cinnamon Spaghetti Squash

I canNOT believe this, but Picky Princess actually said to me tonight, “Oh Mommy THANK you for this cinnamon squash, I LOVE it!”  Whoa.

It’s amazing how, unconsciously, you kind of use the same tastes and spices over and over. I am definitely drawn to a lot of the same tastes, fresh basil, olive oil, fresh cracked pepper, rosemary, olives, avocado. These are the types of things I cook with a LOT. But if we go out for dinner, I am so excited to order different tastes, Thai food, Indian Curries…mmm I love it all. So it got me thinking that I probably need to start cooking more with some of these great tastes.

Tonight I was roasting a spaghetti squash and pulled out some things I usually would put on the squash: romano cheese, olive oil, fresh sage, sea salt and pepper. Which would have been yummy! But instead I thought I’d try a little twist. Only a few ingredients but a completely different palate. Mild and delicious. Give it a try!

Cinnamon Spaghetti Squash

1 spaghetti squash

1 tbs extra virgin olive oil

2 tsp grated fresh ginger

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp curry powder

Directions: Slice squash lengthwise and place cut sides down on a baking sheet. Roast at 350 until softened enough to scoop out, 45 mins-1 hr (I used a really small squash so it may take a bit longer). Roasting the squash can be done ahead of time. Once it’s cooked, scoop out the squash. In a pan, heat olive oil over medium heat. Saute the squash with the ginger and spices, adjusting them to suite your taste. This was a fairly mild version to please my Little People, but each flavor still stood out.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. kjanzen
    Sep 27, 2010 @ 22:10:33

    ooh, I absolutely love spaghetti squash (well, squash of any kind, really!). i would never have thought to put that combination of flavours together. just another reason why i love you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

